学在苏格兰

A night time view of Edinburgh with fireworks.

关于苏格兰

苏格兰是英国最北部的地区。这一极富魅力的地区不但拥有规模宏大的景观,还拥有充满文化的喧嚣城市。你可能了解格子呢、风笛和威士忌,但苏格兰还有很多值得你去探索的东西。

苏格兰因其无与伦比的历史、令人叹为观止的风景和热情好客的人民而闻名于世,但你可能不会知道苏格兰还是一个创新、多元、先进的地区,在解决重要的全球问题时扮演着重要角色。

苏格兰拥有丰富独特的文化。苏格兰随时准备热情欢迎国际游客的到来,它是一系列大型国际活动的主办地,还享有提供世界级的酒店服务的声誉。它最近举办的大型体育赛事活动包括欧洲足球冠军联赛决赛、橄榄球世界杯和欧洲杯、英国高尔夫公开赛以及欧洲田径锦标赛。2021年,这一趋势仍然延续,苏格兰举办了一系列欧洲足球精英赛事,如格拉斯哥联合举办的欧洲足球锦标赛(欧洲杯)赛事。无怪乎格拉斯哥获得了罗浮旅游指南评选的“全球最友好城市”这一荣誉称号。

此外,苏格兰还会定期举办一些全球顶级乐队的演出活动,是大多数的大型世界巡演经常造访的地区。苏格兰格拉斯哥的巴罗兰(Barrowlands)是经典摇滚乐的演出胜地,多年以来见证了冲撞乐队(The Clash)、大卫·鲍伊(David Bowie)、喷火战机乐队(Foo Fighters)和缪斯乐队(Muse)等面向大批观众激情演出的盛况。世界知名的艺穗节等爱丁堡艺术节也吸引着大批音乐和创意人才前来,这是一个始终都有乐队演出或展会上演的地区,你在这里永远都不会无聊。

苏格兰还有许多值得勇敢无畏的探索者前来探索的东西。从标志性的爱丁堡城堡,坐落在这座苏格兰首府城市核心地带的火山岩上面;到高地地区荒凉、多山的荒野;再到海岸线上绵延数英里的纯净的白色沙滩,你拥有无数开启探险之旅的机会。无论你喜欢徒步、游泳、骑行、爬山、划船还是散步,苏格兰优美的户外游览胜地总有适合你的去处。

苏格兰锐意进取,敢为人先,走在了解决无数全球问题的前沿阵地。2021年,格拉斯哥举办了联合国气候变化大会(COP26)并展示了苏格兰一些减少其碳排放量的创新计划。苏格兰还在过去五年内获得了多个“世界首创”记录,包括成为世界首个向所有教育阶段的学生免费提供生理期用品的国家和地区,以及世界首个在所有课程中植入LGBT+包容教育的国家和地区。

Group of friends sitting on Calton Hill with the National Monument in the background.

在苏格兰享受世界一流教育

苏格兰每年都有19所世界一流的教学机构为242,000多名学生提供教育,其中包括来自180多个不同的国家和地区的50,000名海外留学生。苏格兰有三所大学—爱丁堡大学格拉斯哥大学圣安德鲁大学—名列QS世界大学排名百强大学之列,根据英国国家统计局统计,它是欧洲受教育程度最高的国度。

苏格兰的大学提供遍布150多个科目的4,500多门课程,91%的海外留学生对于他们在苏格兰大学的学习体验感到满意。凭借非常广泛的毕业生网络和悠久的历史(圣安德鲁大学是欧洲第三古老的英语大学),你拥有学习选定课程以外更多知识的机会。

在苏格兰学习的一个主要原因是参与到世界知名的研究当中。苏格兰大学的研究者负责进行许多改变世界的创新,如磁共振成像扫描器和微创手术等。苏格兰教育的高标准反映在86%的苏格兰地区科研成果均被认为具有非同凡响的影响这一事实当中。

学费资助

苏格兰大学提供各式各样的奖学金。

苏格兰许多大学都提供奖学金和助学金用以资助学生的学费和生活开销。要了解你选定的课程的学费,以及有哪些奖学金和助学金,请访问你想要申请的教学机构的网站。

苏格兰兰十字奖学金是一个由苏格兰政府与苏格兰各所大学和学院合作提供的奖学金计划。该计划提供最多50份奖学金,每份价值8000英镑,为在苏格兰任何高等教育机构的研究生硕士课程中以全日制方式学习一年的任何学生提供学费资助。

英国教育Study UK的非凡英国奖学金项目涵盖多所苏格兰大学。下一次提供该奖学金的时间为2022年10月,奖励的时间范围为2023-24学年。

More in this section

Study in England

With a wide variety of university settings and around 463,000 international students, find out more about studying in England.

Study in Wales

Universities in Wales have plenty to offer, from first-class education to sport and adventure. Find out more about studying in the beautiful country of Wales.

Study in Northern Ireland

The Giant's Causeway and Game of Thrones - discover all this and more when you choose to study in Northern Ireland.

See also

Discover why you should study in Glasgow

Glasgow's leafy streets are lined with historic buildings and decorated with colourful street art, making the city as vibrant as the people who live there.

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest updates and advice on applications, scholarships, visas and events.

Study in Scotland

A night time view of Edinburgh with fireworks.

About Scotland

Scotland is the northernmost country in the UK. It boasts a stunning mix of sprawling landscapes and buzzing cities full of culture. You might be aware of tartan, bagpipes and whisky, but Scotland has a lot more to offer.

Scotland is recognised across the globe as a land of unrivalled history, breath-taking scenery and warm welcomes, but you may not realise that Scotland is also an innovative, diverse and progressive nation, and one which plays its part in addressing key global challenges.

Scottish culture is rich and unique. Ever ready to offer a friendly welcome to international visitors, Scotland has played host to a number of major international events and has developed a reputation for providing world-class hospitality. It has recently hosted major sporting events such as football’s Champions League Final, rugby’s World Cup and European Cup, golf’s British Open and athletics' European Championships. In 2021, this trend continued as Scotland welcomed Europe's football elite for a series of games as part of the UEFA European Championships in Glasgow. It is no wonder that Glasgow was recognised by Rough Guides as the Friendliest City in the World.

On top of this, Scotland regularly plays host to some of the biggest bands in the world and is a common stop on most major world tours. Home to the legendary rock music venue, the Barrowlands in Glasgow, Scotland has seen the likes of The Clash, David Bowie, Foo Fighters and Muse perform to huge audiences over the years. The Edinburgh festivals such as the world-renowned Fringe Festival also attract a host of musical and creative talent alike, meaning there is always a band playing or show being performed to keep you entertained.

Scotland has a lot to offer the intrepid explorer too. From the iconic Edinburgh Castle, which sits on volcanic rock in the heart of the country’s capital; to the stark, mountainous wilderness of the Highlands; and the miles of untouched, white, sandy beaches along the coast there are plenty of opportunities to embark on an adventure. Whether you prefer to hike, swim, cycle, climb, paddle or simply stroll, Scotland’s great outdoors has something for you.

Progressive and pioneering, Scotland has been at the forefront of numerous global issues. In 2021, Glasgow hosted COP26, the United Nations Climate Change conference and showcased some of Scotland’s innovative programmes to reduce the nation’s carbon emissions. The country has also achieved several ‘world-firsts’ in the last five years, including becoming the first nation in the world to provide free period products to students at all levels of education, and the first nation to embed LGBT+ inclusive education across the curriculum.

Group of friends sitting on Calton Hill with the National Monument in the background.

Receive a world-class education in Scotland

There are 19 world-leading institutions in Scotland educating over 242,000 students each year, including 50,000 international students from over 180 different countries. Three of Scotland’s universities - the University of Edinburgh, the University of Glasgow and the University of St Andrews - are ranked in the QS World Top 100 Universities. And, according to the Office of National Statistics, it is the most highly educated country in Europe.

Scottish universities offer over 4,500 courses in more than 150 subjects and 91 per cent of international graduates are satisfied with their learning experience at a Scottish university. With such broad alumni networks and expansive histories (the University of St Andrew’s is the third oldest English-speaking university in Europe), the opportunities for learning extend far beyond your chosen course.

A major reason to study in Scotland is to be part of world-renowned research. Researchers in Scottish universities are responsible for many world-changing innovations, such as the MRI scanner and keyhole surgery. The high standard of Scottish education is reflected in the fact that 86 per cent of Scottish research has been judged to be of outstanding impact.

Funding your studies

There are a range of scholarships offered at Scottish universities.

Many universities in Scotland offer scholarships and bursaries to assist students with the cost of tuition fees or living costs. To find out the cost of tuition fees for your chosen course, and which scholarships and bursaries may be available, visit the website of the institution you want to apply to.

Saltire Scholarships is a programme of scholarships offered by the Scottish government in collaboration with Scottish Universities and Colleges. The scheme offers up to 50 awards, each worth £8000, towards tuition fees for any one year of full-time study on a postgraduate master’s programme at any of Scotland’s higher education institutions.

Study UK's GREAT scholarships include a number of Scottish universities. The scholarships will launch next in October 2022 for the 2023-24 academic year.

More in this section

Study in England

With a wide variety of university settings and around 463,000 international students, find out more about studying in England.

Study in Wales

Universities in Wales have plenty to offer, from first-class education to sport and adventure. Find out more about studying in the beautiful country of Wales.

Study in Northern Ireland

The Giant's Causeway, Game of Thrones and Grandad Joe’s famous Cream Horn - discover all this and more when you choose to study in Northern Ireland.

See also

Discover why you should study in Glasgow

Glasgow's leafy streets are lined with historic buildings and decorated with colourful street art, making the city as vibrant as the people who live there.

Other relevant websites

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest updates and advice on applications, scholarships, visas and events.