学在英格兰

Aerial view of Bamburgh Castle on the coast of Northumberland, England.

关于英格兰

英格兰拥有 5598 万人口(2018 年),是英国四个地区中最大的,其人口最为集中,仅伦敦一个城市就超过整个苏格兰的人口。英格兰集中了很多大型城市,多元化的人口结构使这里成为了一个热情包容,海纳百川的国家。

英格兰拥有丰富的社会和文化历史。它是莎士比亚以及众多文学大师的诞生地,还是充满活力的世界级音乐和体育盛事的举办地,从格拉斯顿伯里音乐节到温布尔登网球赛不一而足,此外它还拥有绝美的自然景色,包括30多处令人叹为观止的自然美景(AONB)

英格兰拥有40多个机场和2,563个火车站,前往英格兰以及在其境内出行十分便捷,无论你要探索其主要城市、令人心醉神迷的乡村景色还是其他任何地方均可十分方便地到达。英格兰拥有众多秘密等待你去探索,无论你在课外拥有哪些爱好,都会很快发现这里有值得任何人去探索的东西。

英格兰的教育

在教育方面,英格兰在英国的四个地区中拥有的高校数量最多(总共134所),其中四所位列全球10大名校之列。由于大学数量众多,大学生的人数也较多。在英格兰的161万名学生当中,大约463,000名是海外留学生,他们居住在各式各样的环境当中,从城市到乡村地区再到海边城镇,不一而足。

英格兰正式划分为九个地理区域,每个区域都有其独特的口音、传统和特色。这九个区域包括伦敦、东北地区、西北地区、约克郡和亨伯、东米德兰、西米德兰、东南地区、东部地区和西南地区。我们用略微宽泛化的方式描述这些地区,以便你能够了解英国拥有哪些不同地区。

伦敦

London landmark, Piccadilly Circus and the statue of Eros, and crowds in the centre of London.

伦敦是英格兰的首府,也是英国的最大城市,英国总人口的12%左右居住于此。它是全球在文化和民族方面最为多元化的城市之一,拥有270个以上的民族和300种语言。从迷人的历史建筑和标志性建筑,到最先进的时尚、戏剧和美食体验,我们很容易就能发现伦敦为何是世界上最精彩纷呈、最受游客欢迎的城市之一。此外,伦敦还拥有18所大学可供选择,是英国大学数量最多的城市--你将在此轻松找到适合你学习的大学。

英格兰北部

曼彻斯特和利物浦等英格兰西北部的城市曾处于工业革命的中心地带,如今因其著名的足球俱乐部和精彩纷呈的夜生活而更加闻名于世。

纽卡斯尔和达勒姆均位于英格兰的东北部,因其文化、建筑和热情好客的民俗而闻名于世,周边还拥有令人心醉神迷的绝色美景。事实上,达勒姆是英国少数几个拥有自己的海岸线的城市之一,因其稀有的植物和野生动物而闻名于世,广受赞誉。

纽卡斯尔和杜伦均位于英格兰的东北部,因其文化、建筑和热情好客的民俗而闻名于世,周边还拥有令人心醉神迷的绝色美景。事实上,杜伦是英国少数几个拥有自己的海岸线的城市之一,因其稀有的植物和野生动物而闻名于世,广受赞誉。

View down the cobbled hill in the village of Haworth, West Yorkshire, England.

英格兰东部

剑桥是英格兰东部最著名的大学城。这座城市因其世界一流的大学、令人目眩神迷的古代建筑以及四季精彩不断的绚丽自然景观而闻名于世--从春季的樱花和木兰,到夏季翠绿色的雏菊花海和栽满阔叶树木、铺有鹅卵石的街道,无不如此。

你还可以探索遍布埃塞克斯郡、萨福克郡和诺福克郡的各个城镇和大学,它们共同分享着434英里的绝美海岸线、滨海居住社区以及风景如画、在历史上拥有重要地位的集镇和乡村。

英格兰中部

英格兰的这一地区也称为米德兰,是英国第二大城市伯明翰的所在地。你在这一地区可以轻松前往各个城市,并发现许多引人注目的城镇和乡村,如科茨沃尔德和埃文河畔斯特拉特福(即莎士比亚的出生地)。

东南部

Canterbury Cathedral

东南部地区因其位于缓和的丘陵地带的乡村而亲切地为人所知,是肯特郡的所在地,被称作“英格兰花园”。该地区的海滨城市是重要的旅游胜地,布莱顿因其古着店、丰富多彩的夜生活和悠闲的海边生活而闻名于世,是最知名的城市之一。位于伦敦西北方向约55英里的牛津是一座非常著名的大学城,是牛津大学(University of Oxford)和牛津布鲁克斯大学(Oxford Brookes University)两所著名高校的所在地。

西南部

荒僻的沙地海滩使得英格兰西南部的各郡--如多塞特郡、德文郡和康沃尔郡,成为备受英国国内游客和全球游客欢迎的英国度假胜地。该地区的主要城市--巴斯、布里斯托尔和埃克塞特,在宁静祥和的海岸之外提供了活力满满的生活氛围,拥有着精彩纷呈的历史以及丰富多彩的音乐和艺术氛围。

More in this section

Study in Scotland

World-class universities, stunning landscapes, and gothic castles - find out why 83,000 international students chose to study in Scotland each year.

Study in Wales

Universities in Wales have plenty to offer, from first-class education to sport and adventure. Find out more about studying in the beautiful country of Wales.

Study in Northern Ireland

The Giant's Causeway and Game of Thrones - discover all this and more when you choose to study in Northern Ireland.

See also

Find out why Bristol is a brilliant choice for international students

Bristol was voted the happiest city in the UK in 2019. Find out why Bristol is such a brilliant choice for international students.

其他相关网站

游览英格兰

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest updates and advice on applications, scholarships, visas and events.

Study in England

Aerial view of Bamburgh Castle on the coast of Northumberland, England.

About England

With a population of 55.98 million (2018), England is the largest of the four UK nations. Relative to its size, it has by far the highest concentration of people living there and London alone has a higher population than the whole of Scotland. England is home to many large cities with very diverse populations making it a truly welcoming, multicultural place.

England has a rich social and cultural history. It is the birthplace of Shakespeare and many other literary greats, it is home to a vibrant and world-class music and sports scene from Glastonbury Festival to Wimbledon and it boasts stunning landscapes including over 30 different Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB).

With more than 40 airports and 2,563 train stations, travelling to and around England is easy, whether you're exploring its major cities, its spellbinding countryside, or anywhere in between. England has so much to offer, whatever your interests are outside of the classroom, and you’ll soon see that there’s something for everyone here.

Education in England

When it comes to education, of the four UK nations, England has the most higher education institutions - 134 in total - four of which are in the top 10 world-ranked universities. Due to the high number of universities, there is also a high student population. And of the 1.61 million students in England, around 463,000 are international students who live in a variety of settings from cities, to rural areas, to coastal towns.

England is officially divided into nine geographical regions each with their own specific accents, traditions and character. The regions are London; the north east; the north west; Yorkshire and the Humber; the east midlands; the west midlands; the south east; the east and the south west. We’ve divided them up in slightly broader terms to help you get a sense of what different areas in the UK have to offer.

London

London landmark, Piccadilly Circus and the statue of Eros, and crowds in the centre of London.

London, the capital of England, is the biggest city in the UK with about 12 per cent of Britain’s overall population living there. It is one of the most culturally and ethnically diverse cities in the world, and is home to more than 270 nationalities and 300 languages. From its fascinating history and iconic buildings, to its cutting-edge fashion, theatre and food scene, it’s easy to see why London is one of the most exciting and most visited cities on the planet. And, with 18 universities to choose from - the most of any city in the UK - you’ll be sure to find somewhere to study that will suit you.

Northern England

Cities in the north west of England like Manchester and Liverpool, which were once at the heart of the industrial revolution, are now better-known for their famous football clubs and great nightlife.

Newcastle and Durham, both situated in the north east of England, are known for their culture, architecture and welcoming atmosphere, and for being surrounded by areas of outstanding beauty. In fact, Durham is one of the few cities in the UK with its own coastline, world-renowned and award-winning for its rare plants and wildlife.

Leeds, York, Hull and Sheffield - all of which are in the region of Yorkshire and the Humber in the UK - also have lots to offer from rich history, scenic dales and bustling markets, to vibrant cities, Gothic ruins and country pubs.

View down the cobbled hill in the village of Haworth, West Yorkshire, England.

Eastern England

The most famous university town in the east of England is Cambridge. It’s known for its outstanding universities, dazzling ancient architecture and gorgeous natural surroundings that look beautiful in all seasons - from the cherry blossom and magnolia trees of the spring, to the bright green daisy fields and leafy, tree-lined cobbled streets in summer.

It’s also worth exploring different towns and universities spread across the counties of Essex, Suffolk and Norfolk, which combined share 434 miles of spectacular coastline, seaside communities and picturesque, historically important market towns and villages.

Central England

Also known as the Midlands, this part of England is home to the UK’s second largest city, Birmingham. In this part of the country you’ll easily be able to head out of the cities and find the many eye-catching towns and villages like those of the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, Shakespeare’s birthplace.

The south east

Canterbury Cathedral

Known affectionately for its gentle rolling countryside, the south east is home to the county of Kent, known as the ‘Garden of England’. The region’s seaside towns are a big attraction, with Brighton, famous for its vintage shopping, colourful nightlife and laid-back beach living, being one of the most renowned. Oxford, which is about 55 miles to the north west of London - is a very famous university town which is where both the University of Oxford and Oxford Brookes University are located.

The south west

Remote sandy beaches make the counties in the south west of England - such as Dorset, Devon and Cornwall - popular holiday destinations in the UK for both locals and visitors from around the world. The region’s main cities - Bath, Bristol and Exeter - offer vibrant alternatives to the tranquillity of the coast, boasting fascinating history, as well as colourful music and arts scenes.

More in this section

Study in Scotland

World-class universities, stunning landscapes, and gothic castles - find out why 50,000 international students chose to study in Scotland each year.

Study in Wales

Universities in Wales have plenty to offer, from first-class education to sport and adventure. Find out more about studying in the beautiful country of Wales.

Study in Northern Ireland

The Giant's Causeway, Game of Thrones and Grandad Joe’s famous Cream Horn - discover all this and more when you choose to study in Northern Ireland.

See also

Find out why Bristol is a brilliant choice for international students

Bristol was voted the happiest city in the UK in 2019. Find out why Bristol is such a brilliant choice for international students.

Other relevant websites